Feeling Like A Child

I hung up on my aunt yesterday. I felt so childish and bratty but I felt backed into a corner. I couldn’t believe I did that. Here’s what went down:

I am on a project right now to plan my son’s first birthday. In my family first birthdays are ridiculously important. So important that I spent a whopping $2,000 + on my daughter’s first birthday. I made a considerably higher salary then, than I make now. (I couldn’t tell you if the last sentence is grammaticly correct or not)

I was feeling some pressure to make a big deal for my son’s birthday as well. I obviously can’t afford a hall but what I CAN afford is to rent a picnic shelter at a local lake. I did just that! It’ll be perfect with the theme I chose. Next, I call my aunt for the family addresses to send out invitations and she says ok. A few days later she calls and asks why I’m inviting extended family. Um, hello? Tradition, like we’ve always done. When someone turns one the whooooooole family gets invited. Arguing ensues and I hung up in the middle of the conversation. Wtf? Am I 12? No, in fact 30 is just around the corner.

Welp, needless to say I felt like a big fat idiot. Live and grow I guess. I’ll try not to do that again.

Leave a comment